Andhra to host F1H2O championship


Andhra Pradesh will host the coveted Formula 1 Powerboat World Championship in Krishna river from November 9 to 11.

The F1H2O championship is being held as part of its efforts to promote tourism. The Andhra Pradesh government has entered an MoU with the F1H2O promoter Management and India Xtreme Adventure Activities, to host sixth-round of F1H2O boat racing.

The MoU facilitates the returning of world flagship international powerboat series to the subcontinent for the first time since 2004. The 2018 UIM F1H2O world championship will be fought out over eight races in different parts of the world, Europe and Asia. In all, nine teams and 19 drivers from 12 countries contesting this year’s championship, are now on their traditional ‘summer break’ following three outstanding European events in Portugal, England and France that has seen the 2018 title race swing one way then another. Of the eight races, five will be held in Asia–India, UAE and China.

Drivers will be seen in action driving the boat at breath-taking speed of 250 km per hour between Prakasam Barrage and Pavitra Sangamam.

F1H2O racing president Paolo Di San Germano was quoted as saying that they are delighted that the world championship is returning to India for the first time after 14 years.

018 F1H2O world championship will be fought out over eight races, with the remaining five rounds taking place in China, UAE and India. Nine teams with 19 expert drivers from 12 countries will be seen in action to win the race.


Leave a Reply